Henry Truby Prize

Henry Truby Prize for Graduate Students

Established in memory of the late Henry M. Truby by his family and friends, this award honors the top graduate student in the FIU Linguistics Program each year. In order to qualify for consideration, a student must be officially enrolled in and currently attending courses in the FIU graduate program in linguistics and must have completed at least 15 credits toward the MA degree.

About Dr. Henry M. Truby

2016-17 Truby Award Winners: Carolyn Baker and Daniel Garzon

Image: winnerssmall.jpg

Truby Family members with cake celebrating 20th anniversary of Truby Award

Image: cakesmall.jpg

Carolyn Baker and Danny Garzon and families, along with Truby family members and members of the faculty

Image: carolynsmall.jpg

Danny Garzon, with his mother

Image: dannysmall.jpg

The Truby Award winners, the Truby family, members of the Linguistics Faculty and students, Dr. Heather Russell, Chair of the English Dept., Dean Bill Anderson, CASE, and previous award winners

Image: allsmall.jpg


2015-16 Truby Award Winner: Ana Paula Fabian Freire

Image: AnaP.jpg

Members of the Truby family

Image: APandTrubies.jpg

Image: MrsTruby.jpg

Ana Paula and members of the faculty

Image: faculty.jpg

Truby Award Winner with Truby Family, Linguistics Faculty, and Linguistics Students

Image: FacandStudents.jpg

2014-15 Truby Award Winners: Kelly Millard and Sal Callesano

Image: kelly-sal-2.jpg

Image: Truby-family-3.jpg

Truby Award Winners with Truby Family, Dr. J. Sutton (Chair of English), and Dean Bill Anderson

Image: kelly-family-2.jpg

Kelly Millard with her family

Image: sal-friends-2.jpg

Sal Callesano with good friends

[Photos courtesy of Ana Paula Fabian Freire]


2013-14 Truby Award Winners: Jacob Cerny and Jake Guyton

Image: officials.jpg

Chris Truby, Assoc Dean Meredith Newman (A&S), Dr. James Sutton (Chair, English Dept), Ann-Sofi Truby Montana, Jacob Cerny, Jake Guyton, Anne (Bookie) Truby, Dr. Tometro Hopkins (Director, Linguistics Prog)

Image: jakesmaller.jpg

Jake Guyton and Mother

Image: jacobsmaller.jpg

Jacob Cerny and Mother

Image: family2.jpg

Chris Truby, Jacob Cerny, Ann-Sofi Truby Montana, Jake Guyton


2012-13 Truby Award Winner: Nicholas Anderson

Award Winner

Nicholas Anderson

Nick with the Truby Family

Nick receiving award from the Truby Family and Dr. Hopkins

 Nick with fellow graduate students

Nick with some fellow graduate students

Previous Recent Recipients:

2003 Truby Award Recipient: Olena Drozd

2004 Truby Award Recipient: Kathleen Noonan

2005 Truby Award Recipient: Renata Santos

2006 Truby Award Recipient: Abigail Randall

2007 Truby Award Recipient: Laura Garcia

2008 Truby Award Recipient: Tasha Uria

2009 Truby Award Recipients: Tara Blickenstaff and Lergia Sastre

2010 Truby Award Recipient: Winnie Paulino

2011 Truby Award Recipients: Tammer Castro and Adam Febles

2012 Truby Award Recipients: Emily Byers and Max Diaz