2016 Lawrence Sanders Award in Fiction

Event information

Tim O'Brien

The Sanders prize, believed to be unique in American letters, is awarded annually to a writer of fiction, identified by The FIU Creative Writing Program, whose work combines literary excellence with popular appeal. The award is supported by a grant from the Lawrence A. Sanders Foundation of Boca Raton. Sanders, who died in 1998, was himself an author of well-regarded popular novels, including The First Deadly Sin. The Creative Writing Program also wishes to extend its thanks to The Betsy Hotel and Barnes & Noble Booksellers for their support of Writers on the Bay.

This year's 2016 honoree is TIM O'BRIEN.

The event will take place at the FIU - Biscayne Bay Campus, Wolfe University Center ballroom (WUC-244) on Thursday, April 28, 2016. The program is to start at 8pm.

This event is free, but requires a ticket. For tickets, please go to Event Brite

Event Flyer

The Betsy Hotel Barnes and Noble